Novak Djokovic has been disqualified from the US Open after hitting a line judge with the ball.
In the opening set of the fourth round match at Arthur Ashe Stadium, Pablo Carreোo Busta was outscored 5-5 by the first team in the world.
In frustration he hit a ball behind her and it hit the female line judge. After hitting the ball, it was immediately clear that he was injured and the Serbian rushed to check on his condition.
Tournament referee Soren Frimmel appeared in court and spoke with chair umpire Aureli Toure and Grand Slam supervisor Andreas Egley before a lengthy discussion between tournament officials and Djokovic.
He lengthened his case before admitting his fate, collecting his racket and leaving the court.
According to the Grand Slam rulebook, US Open tournament referee Novak Djokovic was defeated in the 2020 US Open, following his actions of intentionally hitting a ball dangerously or recklessly inside the court or ignoring the consequences. Since he was defaulted, Djokovic will lose all the ranking points he received at the US Open and will be fined the prize money for winning the tournament in addition to collecting any or all of the fines in the event of an offense.
USTA statement by default Novak Djokovic
Djokovic will face another fine for not holding his press conference. Shortly after the incident, the 33-year-old was pictured getting into a black Tesla car and leaving Flushing Meadow.
Check out this post on Instagram
This whole situation has made me really sad and empty. I checked the line person and the tournament told me that thanks to God he is feeling very good. I am very sorry for creating such pressure. So unintentional. So wrong. I am not disclosing his name out of respect for his privacy. As for incompetence, I have to go back and work towards my frustrations and turn these into a lesson for my growth and evolution as a player and as a human being. I apologize to everyone involved in that Uppen tournament and my behavior. I am grateful to my team and family for being my rock support, and my fans say they are always with me. Thank you and I’m sorry. This whole situation has made me really sad and empty. I checked how the line judge was feeling and according to the information I got he felt good, thank God. I cannot disclose his name to protect his privacy. I’m so sorry I put so much pressure on her. It was not intentional. It was wrong. I would like to apologize to the organizers of the US Open for turning this unpleasant experience, the disqualification from the tournament, into an important life lesson so that I, as a person, can still grow and develop as a tennis player. I am grateful to my team and family for their strong support, as well as my fans because they are always with me. Thank you and I’m sorry. It was a difficult day for everyone.
Djokovic later apologized in a statement on Instagram: “This whole situation has made me really sad and empty. I kept an eye on the line person and the tournament told me that thanks to God he seems to be fine.
“I am very sorry to cause such pressure. So unintentionally so wrong. I am not revealing his name out of respect for his privacy.
“As for incompetence, I have to go back and work towards my frustration and make it a lesson for my growth and evolution as a player and as a human being.
“I apologize to everyone involved in that Uppen tournament and my behavior. I thank my team and family as my rock support and my fans are always with me. Thank you and I’m sorry.”
It was a surprising consequence of the top seed expectation of winning the 18th Grand Slam title and, even in bizarre circumstances, ended his 26-0 winning run from the start of the year.
Kareno Busta will now face Denis Shapovalov or seventh seed David Goffin in the quarterfinals.
And Djokovic’s disqualification means that Marin Cilic will be the new men’s Grand Slam champion for the first time since winning the US Open in 2014.
Dominic Theme, the three-time main final loser for the second time, is now the highest ranked player.
He was criticized for hosting an Adria Tour exhibition event in June, where he and several other players tested positive for COVID-19.
He then dropped a bomb on the eve of the Open, announcing his resignation as president of the ATP Players’ Council to stand in front of a new Association of Professional Tennis Players (PTPA).
Novak’s misfortune, says opponent Kareno Busta
Spanish opponent Carino Busta says the way to the quarter-finals is not the way he wanted to be.
Speaking at his press conference, the twentieth seed said: “I did not see the moment the ball was thrown. I looked at my coach celebrating the break. When I went back again, the line umpire was on the floor.
“I’m very worried about these kinds of things, so I was a little shocked. I asked the Colombian boys in the crowd when the ball hit the line umpire, and I was shocked. I never expected this. You know the moment of the game against Novak. It’s a tough moment for either.
I think it was unfortunate. You can’t do that but of course I think Novak never wants to hit the line umpire.
In the case of Djokovic, Pablo Kareno Busta
He added: “They were talking about the net, I just try to pay attention if there is a case where we have to play.
“It was 10 minutes or 15 minutes. But it was a bit cold, so I need to be prepared in case we have to continue. I just want him. [the umpire], And finally Novak give me a hand. That’s it.
“I think it was unfortunate. You can’t do it, but of course I think Novak never wants to hit the line umpire. I’m sorry about that, because it’s not the way I want to come.” [the] Quarter finals I was playing my match, I was playing really well and I was enjoying the match.
That’s incredible Choose Default. Regardless of the motive or purpose it was the right decision under the rules. Novak should have stayed at the press conference and apologized. No matter how difficult the situation, we must take responsibility for our actions.
– Greg Rusedsky (@Gregorozdesky1) September 6, 2020
The fifth seed Alexander ZaverevThe man who finished in the last eight with an eight-2, -2-2- 6-1 win over Alejandro Davidovich Fokina said he was in a state of shock.
The German said: “He hit the tennis ball. It’s very unfortunate that he hit the line judge and especially where it hit him. There is a rule for that. I think the supervisors and all of them are just doing their job. But very unfortunate.
“I don’t know what to say. I’m just a little shocked.”
Xavier became one of the new contenders for the trophy and he added: “Now I think it’s a time when it’s really interesting. I know who I can play. I know who else can play. We’ll see where we go from here.” “
McLaughlin: Novak has no choice but to default
Miles McLaughlin, former coach of Laura Robson and Andy Murray, said he was “absolutely shocked” by Djokovic’s actions.
Speaking to Sky Sports News, he said: “It was not intentional, but the rules state that although it was not intentional, he hit a ball quite hard and hit a linewoman in the neck so that there was no other way but to default.
“Because of the empty stadium it was probably made a bit easier, I think it would have been more difficult to do it in front of 23,000 paying fans.
“Just when you didn’t think this tournament could be even more bizarre – the obvious favorite default, absolutely stunned.
“We had a long discussion with Djokovic and the referee that we didn’t hear and we thought what was going on but in the end it was the right decision.”
What happened in court is incredible এস US Open – Novak Djokovic inadvertently defaulted but foolishly hit a linesman in the neck with a ball and the officers had no choice but to default. That’s great.#Sad
Women are happy – we should do better than that
– Martina Navratilova (Martina) September 6, 2020
Djokovic is not the first player to default on something like this, but it is an unusual situation to be in a Grand Slam and to be seen as a favorite of the tournament.
Canadian Dennis Shapovalov was playing in the Davis Cup match against Great Britain in 2017 when he dropped a ball in the head of Rage which caught the eye of umpire Arnad Gabas.
Meanwhile, Tim Heinman was disqualified 25 years ago for hitting a ball girl during a doubles match at Wimbledon.
I’m talking Amazon Prime“It’s a huge blow. There’s no doubt it’s the right decision. I was surprised that this happened to me at Wimbledon in 1999 because it was a moment of frustration, I threw the ball away when I wasn’t looking and I hit a girl in the ear.
“I was shocked, I was embarrassed and I was very disappointed.”
This year’s US Open is the first major tournament without a former Grand Slam champion in the quarterfinals since Wimbledon 2003. [won by Roger Federer].
Call right! It’s stunning to watch unveiled. Hope Line Person Ok.🙏Choose Clear the favorite to win the 18th GS-narrowed margin behind Rafa / Roger. ND seems to be the only way to lose. The new 1st time Major Champion will be crowned. #Kraziternofenvests
– Tracy Austin (tetraciostin) September 6, 2020
David Nalbandian kicked an advertising hoarding during the Queen’s Final in 2012, injuring a line judge and defaulting.
Don’t forget to follow us on our Twitter account SkySports / Tennis On Twitter & Sky Sports – Running! IPhone and iPad and Android – now available for download