What are the differences between England, United Kingdom and Great Britain?

Our English friends are adept at complicating things. Starting this Thursday, we are meeting across the channel for the Platinum Jubilee Celebrations, Marks the 70 years of Elizabeth II’s rule, Crowned in 1952, Elizabeth II is commonly referred to as the “Queen of England”, but she is actually queen of britain (and other Commonwealth realms). What are the differences between the two?

England, means only countryIt extends from Brighton in the south to Carlisle and Berwick-on-Tweed in the north, with London as its capital. England is part of the island of Great Britain, including Scotlandto the north, with Edinburgh as its capital and WalesTo the west, whose capital is Cardiff.

The United Kingdom includes these three countries on the island of Great Britain and Northern IrelandIreland, a country as its name suggests, is located in the north of the island, with Belfast as its capital. In the South, Ireland, also called republic of irelandIts capital city is Dublin, governed by an elected president and a prime minister.

Several smaller islands surrounding the British Archipelago are also part of the United Kingdom, as well as some foreign regionsSuch as Bermuda, Falkland Islands or Gibraltar.

editorial staff recommends

News by the RTL editorial staff in your mailbox.

Subscribe to the RTL Information newsletter to follow all the news on a daily basis, thanks to your RTL account

You May Also Like

About the Author: Forrest Morton

Organizer. Zombie aficionado. Wannabe reader. Passionate writer. Twitter lover. Music scholar. Web expert.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.