Ukraine: Russian Foreign Ministry will impose sanctions on 287 British lawmakers – Reuters

The Russian Foreign Ministry imposed sanctions on 287 members of the House of Commons in retaliation for British measures regarding the invasion of Ukraine.

Two months after the Kremlin’s illegal invasion, the ministry said lawmakers would be subjected to “personal sanctions”, accusing them of promoting “unjustified Russophobic hysteria”.

It was not immediately clear which Westminster lawmakers would apply the restrictions, but earlier this month travel restrictions were imposed on senior government officials including Boris Johnson and Foreign Secretary Liz Truss.

Weeks after the invasion, Britain banned 386 members of the Russian parliament who voted in favor of Vladimir Putin’s actions in eastern Ukraine’s Lukhansk and Donetsk regions.

“In response to the UK government’s decision on March 11 to add 386 State Duma MPs to the sanctions list, individual sanctions are being imposed on 287 members of the House of Commons in a reciprocal move,” the Russian ministry said in a statement.

more follow

See also  McDonald's customers can get a free breakfast as menu is reintroduced

You May Also Like

About the Author: Forrest Morton

Organizer. Zombie aficionado. Wannabe reader. Passionate writer. Twitter lover. Music scholar. Web expert.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.