The World Cup will be held for the first time in the United States

Published on :

Backed by President Joe Biden, the US candidacy was validated on Thursday by the world rugby body to host the men’s World Cup in 2031 and the women’s edition of the competition in 2033. Nearly forty years after football, the World Cup of Rugby will take place in the United States.

The World Rugby Organization named the host nations of the next five Rugby World Cups with two editions on Thursday, 12 May, the first in history for the men’s 2031 and the 2033 women’s, in the United States. Uncle Sam’s Land.

Before visiting this new and as yet unexplored territory, Rugby will first settle in her cradle in England in 2025 for the Women’s World Cup. This will be followed by Australia in 2027 (men) and 2029 (women). Then the United States.

“Today we have named three exceptional Rugby World Cup host nations – England, Australia and the United States – that offer unprecedented certainty and a unique opportunity to drive the growth and reach of the Rugby World Cup. Rugby in the world “, exclaims Bill Beaumont, President of World Rugby.

“The confirmation of these destinations is based on a new partnership’s vision for tournament delivery that will foster sustainable development, particularly in the United States and for women’s rugby, to help the sport fulfill its potential on and off the pitch.” and generates significant socio-economic benefits for the host countries,” he said.

The US candidacy was endorsed by President Joe Biden, who last month sent a letter to World Rugby recalling the United States’ willingness to help develop the discipline on American soil and around the world.

See also  Champions League draw: Man Uday faces PSG, Lionel Messi meets Cristiano Ronaldo | Football News

“USA Rugby will now enter a new era and ensure that the sport’s most prestigious tournament is a springboard to ignite the enduring enthusiasm and passion for rugby from coast to coast,” commented American Federation General Manager Ross Young .

France to host next edition in 2023

England, which will host the 2025 women’s edition, has already played the host nation three times with the Women’s World Cup (2010) and two men’s (1991 and 2015).

“We are delighted to host the 2025 Rugby World Cup, it is going to be amazing (…) We will leave a lasting legacy for women’s rugby in England, the UK and around the world, attracting more players and new spectators Will do”, promised Sue Day, former England team captain, director of operations and finance for the English Federation (RFU).

Australia, which has hosted the first men’s World Cup in 1987 (along with New Zealand) and again in 2003, was pleased to welcome men in 2027 and women in 2029. “We are delighted to host not one but two Rugby Worlds. The Cup on our shores is a game-changer for rugby in this country, a one-time opportunity to revive and secure the future of rugby here,” Rugby Australia President Hamish McLennan said.

The 2027 men’s edition will be the first in the Southern Hemisphere since the 2011 edition was contested in New Zealand. England and Japan had hosted the 2015 and 2019 visits respectively. France will host the next one in 2023, which will be the tenth edition of the competition for men.

See also  F1, rugby, skiing, football ... the epidemic is shaking up the sports world once again

By exporting to the Atlantic, the Rugby World Cup validates their desire to expand, having toured Asia (Japan) three years earlier. Africa will still have to wait to get their first World Cup since South Africa in 1995.

AFP. with

You May Also Like

About the Author: Piers Parker

Alcohol maven. Incurable pop culture specialist. Communicator. Gamer. Certified explorer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.