RKI updates list of coronavirus risk areas

For almost a year, the Federal Foreign Office issued a general travel warning for many regions of Europe due to the coronavirus pandemic. As of July 1, it has been in effect for only 200 incidents and for areas in which the dangerous virus types have spread widely. It is only “disappointed” from unnecessary, so-called simple risk areas from tourist trips. Countries and territories that have a seven-day incidence of more than 50 per 100,000 residents are classified as at-risk areas.

The Robert Koch Institute currently classifies European countries and territories as follows:


The Netherlands: The country has been a high incidence area since Tuesday, July 27, which includes autonomous countries and the Caribbean parts of the state. Belgium and Luxembourg are not currently at risk.

France, Monaco and Andorra

The following areas are considered low-risk areas: Corsica, Occitania, Provence-Alpes-Cte d’Azur and the overseas territories of Réunion, French Guiana, Saint Martin and Martinique. Since 25 July, Monaco has been classified as an easy-risk area. Andorra is also considered a risky area.

Austria and Hungary

Both countries are no longer risk zones.


Switzerland is also not a risk zone at present.

Great Britain and Ireland

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, which includes the Isle of Man, all of the Channel Islands and the British Overseas Territories, were considered virus isolated areas from May to early July. This was justified with the occurrence of delta virus version b.1.617.2 in the United Kingdom. On 7 July, however, the areas were downgraded to high incidence areas. Ireland is considered an area of ​​easy risk.

See also  The crime agency is on fire for allegedly forging bank signatures


Spain will be a high incidence area, including the Balearic and Canary Islands, from Tuesday, July 27.


Until early July, Portugal, including the autonomous regions of Madeira and the Azores, was considered a virus variant region. The country has since been downgraded to a high incidence zone.


Italy is no longer a risk zone.


Malta is once again considered a moderate risk area.

Czech Republic and Slovakia

The Czech Republic and Slovakia are no longer considered at-risk areas.

Slovenia, Croatia, Montenegro, Serbia

In Croatia only Zadar County is a moderate risk zone.

Turkey and Greece

Turkey is still considered an easy-risk area. Greece is classified as an easy risk zone.

Finland, Sweden, Norway, Denmark,

With the exception of Greenland, Denmark has been a completely at-risk area since 25 July. Finland, Sweden and Norway are not listed as at-risk areas.

Romania, Moldova and Bulgaria

These countries are not currently at risk areas.

Poland and the Baltic States

Poland and the Baltic countries of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania are also currently no-risk areas.


Cyprus has been a high incidence area since mid-July.

Risk areas and travel warnings

The list of risk areas is published by the Robert Koch Institute in consultation with the Federal Ministry of Health, the Foreign Office and the Federal Ministry of the Interior. According to the RKI, a two-stage assessment applies: First, it determines which states or territories registered more than 50 newly infected people per 100,000 residents in the past seven days.

For areas where this limit has not been reached, the RKI uses information from the Federal Foreign Office to assess whether there is still an increased risk of infection. Among other things, the testing capacity and testing done, the type of virus, containment measures, and the reliability of information for some countries play a role.

virus variant area

In addition to particularly high-case areas and other factors that increase the risk of infection at the site, the RKI also classifies areas in which certain virus variants have spread as risk areas. Special requirements apply for entries from these regions.

The virus-type regions are currently Botswana, Brazil, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa and Uruguay. You can find the current list here.

high incidence area

In January, the federal government also classified more than 20 states as high-incidence areas for the first time. This typically includes states with a weekly incidence of more than 200 per 100,000 residents. Egypt, Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Fiji, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Colombia, Cuba, Kuwait, Libya, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, Oman, non-EU countries and territories classified as high incidence areas. , Paraguay, Peru, Russia, Seychelles, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania and Tunisia.

Strict entry rules apply to high-incidence and virus isolated areas.

(stand: 27.07.2021)

Further articles on coronavirus

In our news blog you will find a regularly updated overview of the most important events. Read also:

+ Status: Infection numbers in Germany (as of 28 July)

+ Holidays abroad: List of areas at risk (as of July 27)

+ Mutation: How dangerous is the delta variant? (by July 22)

+ Education: What’s next for schools in autumn? (until July 17th)

You can also check DLF news on Twitter here: @DLFNews.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Forrest Morton

Organizer. Zombie aficionado. Wannabe reader. Passionate writer. Twitter lover. Music scholar. Web expert.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *