Holland – World Atlas

The Kingdom of the Netherlands consists of 12 provinces: North Holland, South Holland, Cleveland, Gelderland, North Brabant, Overcord, Trent, Utrecht Province, Groningen Province, Friesland, Zealand and Limburg. Holland is a geographical region on the west coast of the Netherlands. Holland It consists of the two provinces of North (North) Holland and Jude (South) Holland. The name Holland is often informally used to refer to the entire country of the Netherlands.


Political Map of the Netherlands. Holland includes the provinces of North Holland and South Holland.

Muze and Rijn at the mouth of European rivers located in the maritime region of Holland Noordzi. The Dutch border is internally bordered by the Gulf of Izselmir and the four provinces of the Netherlands to the east. The total area is 7,511 km2.2There are many rivers and lakes in the part of Holland. Long queues of coastal dunes protect the area from the sea. Located in Skuris, Dunion is the tallest place in the Netherlands with a height of only 55 meters. Most of the area behind these coastal dunes consists of low, lowland areas. A map located in South Holland near the city of Rotterdam, 7 meters below sea level, considered to be the lowest point in the Netherlands. Many windmills can be found throughout the Dutch landscape, which were previously used to prevent continuous drainage and flooding.

Amsterdam, located in North Holland, is the capital of the Netherlands and the largest and most densely populated city. The port of Rotterdam is located in South Holland and is the largest and most important port in Europe. The Hague is also located in South Holland, the third largest city and administrative center in the Netherlands. It hosts the International Court of Justice. These three large cities together form the city of Utrecht and some smaller municipalities that form a large metroplex. Randstad.

See also  Coronavirus in Italy and the world: news and covid case bulletin today 13 November

brief history

Dutch Parliament, The Hague, Holland, Netherlands.

The name “Holland” is derived from the old Dutch word Holland It means “forest”. By the early 12th century, a part of Holland was initially part of Friesland and their people were called Friesians. Holland (part of West Friesland) became an independent district in the Holy Roman Empire at the end of the 9th century. Holland eventually became part of the Burgundian Netherlands in 1432 and Habsburg in 1477.

From 158 to 1895, the region that now represents the Netherlands was known as the Seven United Republics of the Netherlands. In 1795, the French occupied the area known as the Batavian Republic. The Republic ruled Napoleon Bonaparte from 1806 to 1810 through his brother Louis Napoleon and his son Napoleon Louis Bonaparte. During this time, Holland contributed significantly to the region’s prosperity and economy. Hence, from this period onwards, the name Holland came to be used as a synonym for the Netherlands as a whole.

However, from 1810 to 1813, Holland was annexed by the French Empire, which was later divided into the French divisions of the Bouches-de-la-Muse and the Juttersi. It was restored in 1815 as a province in the United Kingdom of the Netherlands. After the Belgian Revolution, the Netherlands was divided into two provinces, North Holland and South Holland.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Piers Parker

Alcohol maven. Incurable pop culture specialist. Communicator. Gamer. Certified explorer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.