Great Britain bans flights from Qatar, Oman and Ethiopia

England has put Qatar, Oman and Ethiopia on the “Red List”, which suspends all flight connections between affected countries.

As they say, on Friday, March 19, at 4 am, England has put many countries on its “red list” to protect its vaccination program “worrying variants”. Apart from Ethiopia, Oman and Somalia, travel restrictions now also apply to the country of Qatar. The inclusion of Qatar in the list is particularly inconvenient for international travelers to London and Manchester as Qatar Airways is an airline that provides major long haul connections while other airlines postpone their routes. This has been reported by among others.

Flugbain should reduce the risk of new variants

What does it mean for a country to be in England’s Red List if it is included in this category? According to the UK government, resident UK, Irish and third country citizens (including long-term visa holders) coming from Red List countries must be kept in a government-approved hotel quarantine facility for ten days. The government said the move “increases the risk of being introduced worryingly after new data.” The government statement said:

With more than 24 million vaccinations distributed so far in the UK, the move will help reduce the risk of new variants – such as those first identified in South Africa and Brazil – entering England.

British government statement

Qatar Airways Boeing 787

Therefore, from 4:00 am on Friday, 19 March, visitors visiting or traveling from these countries in the last ten days will be denied entry into England. Only British and Irish citizens or resident residents (including long-term visa holders) are allowed entry and are required to remain in a government-approved facility for ten days. During their stay, they undergo a coronovirus test on the second and eighth day. Any person traveling from Doha is subject to the conditions of the Red List trip to England. However, Scotland does not have Qatar on its “yet acutely risk countries” list.

Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland have no similar restrictions

Other countries that are part of the United Kingdom have their own lists and restrictions, due to the division of state responsibilities. Therefore, it appears that there is no uniform ban on Qatar in Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland at this time. Scotland is particularly interested as it is the only other destination that Qatar Airways currently offers a direct route from Doha with the capital, Edinburgh.

The Scottish list was last updated on 1 March, which means there is a chance that Scotland will follow England’s move and put Ethiopia, Oman, Somalia and Qatar on their list of “countries at high risk”. In general, countries in the United Kingdom had very similar travel restrictions.

Conclusion on British flight ban

For many travelers who travel from Great Britain or England, it is now more difficult – especially on international routes. Because with the update to the “Red List”, many long-haul destinations with Qatar Airways are no longer applicable. It is now a matter of bringing the situation under control for the affected countries to ‘escape’ from the list again.

See also  The domain of Les Ormes welcomes tourists this winter, between St-Malo and Mont-St-Michel

You May Also Like

About the Author: Forrest Morton

Organizer. Zombie aficionado. Wannabe reader. Passionate writer. Twitter lover. Music scholar. Web expert.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *