Five new countries elected to the Security Council

AA/New York

United Nations General Assembly President Volkan Bozkir announced on Friday that Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, Albania and the United Arab Emirates have been elected to the Security Council as non-permanent members for 2022 and 2023.

Bozkir told representatives of the member states of the General Assembly at a session held at the International Organization’s headquarters in New York that the five countries would begin their terms from January 1, 2022, to December 31, 2023.

He specified in the sense that “out of the 193 members of the United Nations, Ghana received 185 votes, Gabon 183 votes, Brazil 181 votes, the United Arab Emirates 179 votes, and Albania 175 votes.”

The five newly elected countries did not object to sitting on this body during the voting.

Thus they replace Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Vietnam and Tunisia, whose mandates expire on December 31, 2021.

To sit on the Security Council as a non-permanent member, each country must obtain two-thirds of the votes of the General Assembly’s member states (193 countries), that is, the support of at least 129 countries in the event that all General Assembly Member states of the U.S. participate in voting campaigns, even if candidate countries do not face opposition to seek seats.

The allocation of seats is done by regional groups to ensure geographical representation.

Voting for the five seats took place according to the following geographical distribution: two seats for the “Africa Group” (currently occupied by Niger and Tunisia), one seat for the “Asia-Pacific Group” (currently occupied by Vietnam), One seat for the Latin America and Caribbean group (currently occupied by Saint Vincent and the Grenadines), and one seat for the Eastern European group (currently occupied by Estonia).

See also  China News: Animated footage depicts an 'attack' on a U.S. air base amid Taiwan's anger. World | News

The Security Council consists of 15 members, including five permanent members: China, the United States, the Russian Federation, France and the United Kingdom, and 10 members elected by the General Assembly for two-year terms. Each year, the latter elects five new non-permanent members.

The Security Council’s first major function under the Charter of the United Nations is “to maintain international peace and security and to investigate any dispute or situation which may lead to disagreement between nations”.

* Translated from Arabic by Majdi Ismail

Only part of the remittances, which Anadolu Agency transmits to its clients through the internal distribution system (HAS), is briefly broadcast on the AA website. Please contact us to subscribe.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Hanley Mallin

Internet geek. Wannabe bacon enthusiast. Web trailblazer. Music maven. Entrepreneur. Pop culture fan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *