Belgium will try to cement their place in the Eurovision final on 12 May

Thirty-five countries will compete in two semi-finals to be held on May 10 and 12 to qualify among 26 finalists in the world’s most-watched televised competition.

Five countries called the “Big Five” are still exempt from the semi-finals: France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom. The host country usually added to this is none other than the winner of the previous edition, but this time it is Italy, which went through the competition last year thanks to rock group Menaskin and their hit “Zitti a Buoni”. ,

For others, you have to go through the semifinal box. Only the first ten countries will be involved in the final on May 14.

17 countries will compete in the first semi-final to be held on 10 May, including recent winners such as Portugal (2017) and the Netherlands (2019).

Jeremy looks at Makisse

Belgium’s eyes will be turned to 12 May, which will mark the Belgian’s entry into the scene. Jeremy Makise will defend his title “Miss You” in sixteenth place. He will face 17 other contestants.

The Eurovision Song Contest is organized by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), which brings together European public broadcasters. To participate, each country must submit a song, which was previously unreleased and performed live by a maximum of six people, for no more than three minutes.

Belgium has only won once, thanks to Sandra Kim and her “Jaime La Vie” in 1986.

The 2022 edition of Eurovision is marked by Russia’s expulsion following the invasion of Ukraine. The latter will participate well. Its first semi-final is to be held on May 10. The country will be represented by the Kalush Orchestra with the title “Stefania”, which already serves as the favorite for the title.

See also  Ten Percent: Prime Video Offers English Conversion, Ten Percent

You May Also Like

About the Author: Rusty Kemp

Tv ninja. Lifelong analyst. Award-winning music evangelist. Professional beer buff. Incurable zombie specialist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.