Australia considering hosting the World Cup in 2030 or 2034

The country is looking to ride the wave of organization of the Women’s World Cup to start the project of the Men’s World Cup in 2023.

Australian football leaders are bidding together to host a men’s football World Cup in 2030 or 2034, in the wake of their organization of a women’s tournament in 2023, and perhaps the 2027 Rugby World Cup, in which they have a good chance. , local Olympic and federation officials announced on Thursday.

«I started (working on a possible candidacy) for 2030 … I think we have to start“, told Australian newspaper Rod McGeoch, who oversaw the Sydney 2000 Olympic bid. He also assured that discussions in this direction have already taken place between the Australian Federation and the public officials responsible for the events.

Australian Federation boss James Johnson believes he can compete again from the Women’s World Cup in 2023 and the Olympic Games in Brisbane in 2032, benefiting from the momentum created by the organization shared with New Zealand.

«We are going to hold a big competition in 2023He explained to The Australian. “We need to make the most of this and this could be a step forward for other FIFA competitions».

«and there is a trend“, she added. “Look at Canada, which hosted the Women’s World Cup in 2015 and 11 years later, they will host the Men’s World Cup along with the United States (and Mexico). Look at Brazil: They hosted the World Cup in 2014 and the Olympics in 2016».

See also  Furia wins CS:GO Elisa Invitational - Big fails early | free Press

Johnson, however, recognizes an obstacle to his project: the 2030 tournament should probably return to Europe or South America as the next one will be held in Qatar, a member of the Asian Football Confederation such as Australia, and will be held in 2026. North America. But 2034 will be more open for Australia, whose national team has qualified in the last four World Cup finals.

The country had already tried its luck for 2022, but the candidature costing taxpayers 45 million Australian dollars (28 million euros) had only one vote, against Qatar, the controversial winner. Spain and Portugal have already announced a joint bid for the 2030 edition to mark the centenary of the competition, and could see competition from the UK/Ireland duo and the Argentina/Chile/Paraguay/Uruguay quartet.

Sport on video: Behind the scenes of Lionel Messi’s arrival at Paris Saint-Germain

You May Also Like

About the Author: Piers Parker

Alcohol maven. Incurable pop culture specialist. Communicator. Gamer. Certified explorer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.