Lars Boom

Lars Boom wins his second Tour of Britain title as Hagen wins final stage in Cardiff with late surge

Dutchman Lars Boom becomes the first rider to win two Tour of Britain in its current format as Norway’s Edvald Boasson Hagen wins stage.

The 180.2km race was rather different then many of the other stages on the race, as almost all breakaways were very swiftly closed down, until, with around 41.2km’s to go when Mark Stewart of a Post-Chain Reaction and Ion Izagirre, a two-time stage winner at a Grand Tour, of Movistar.

Stewart and Izagirre were able to hold out the advantage until they entered the street circuit in Cardiff, when they were pulled back by the pelton.

But the racing hadn’t finished as with around half-way through the second lap there was a huge attack of the front of the race as Stefan Kung of BMC, Edvald Boasson Hagen of Dimension Data, Michal Kwiatkowski of Team Sky and the leader of the race overall Lars Boom of LottoNL-Jumbo jumped clear.

They were able to hold the lead at the front of the race until they entered five km’s to go, onto the final circuit of the race.

But the racing hadn’t finished there, as with around 3 km’s to go Edvald Boasson jumped clear again, and started to time trial his way around to the finish, with the Norwegian getting as much as a 10-second advantage over the rest of the peloton.

But, as every metre went by, the gap between the pelton and the lone leader became ever closer, Boasson Hagen had to dig deep. And the Dimension Data dug deep enough to

And the Dimension Data dug deep enough to hold off the chasing pack, and claim victory on the streets of Cardiff, but unfortunately, it wasn’t enough to pick up the leaders jersey, with Boom holding off Boasson Hagen, and winning by a gap of just eight seconds.

Race result

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Data, 4hrs 19 mins
2. Ariel Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors, same time
3. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha-Alpecin, same time
4. Luka Mezgec (Slo) Orica-Scott, same time
5. Brenton Jones, (Aus) LottoNL-Jumbo, same time
6. Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Wanty-Groupe Gobert, same time
7. Floris Gerts (Ned) BMC Pro Racing, same time
8. Fernando (Col) Quick-Step Floors, same time
9. Jonas Koch (Ger) Ccc Sprandi-Polkowice, same time
10. Elia Viviani (Ita) Team Sky, same time

Selected others

16. Owain Doull (GBr) Team Sky, same time
18. Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky, same time

General Classification

1. Lars Boom (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo, 30hrs 56 mins 24 secs
2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Data, +08 secs
3. Stefan Kung (Swi) BMC Pro Racing, +10 secs
4. Victor Campenaerts (Bel) LottoNL-Jumbo, +13 secs
5. Michał Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky, +18 secs
6. Jos Van Emden (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo, +18 secs
7. Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky, +24 secs
8. Tony Martin (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin, +25 secs
9 Owain Doull (GBr) Team Sky, +33 secs
10. Ryan Mullen (Ire) Cannondale Drapac, +38 secs

(Featured image)