Elinor Barker to compete in the UCI Road World Championships as Geraint Thomas misses out due to injury

Cardiff-born riders Elinor Barker and Owain Doull will compete in this years UCI Road World Championships in Bergen.

Barker is set to ride in both the road race and the time trial, and Doull just racing the road race. However Geraint Thomas is out of the squad due to the injury he suffered during this year’s Tour De France.

Barker, who won gold for Team GB on the track at last year’s Olympics, will ride the 21.1 km course, including a 1.4 km climb on Tuesday, 19th September.

He will then join with the road race squad on Saturday, 23rd September, alongside, among other people, the 2015 Women’s road race World Champion Lizzie Deignan along the 152.8 km race around Bergen.

Then on the Sunday, 24th September, it is Doull’s time to shine with the 24-year old, who also won gold at last year’s Olympics on the track in the team trail, will be part of a strong looking nine-man squad looking to stop Peter Sagan winning a third successive World Championship title.

In other news from the Team GB camp, Chris Froome, who has recently created history by completing the double of winning both the Tour De France and the Vuelta a Espana in the same year, will compete in both Team Time Trial and the individual Time Trial for Great Britain.

With the 32-year old one of the favourites to take the victory, with a 3.4 km climb at the end of the time trial, with the average gradient of 9%.

Confirmed GB men’s squad

Time Trial
Chris Froome (Team Sky), Steve Cummings (Dimension Data)

Road Race
Adam Blythe (Aqua Blue), Mark Christian (Aqua Blue), Jon Dibben (Team Sky), Owain Doull (Team Sky), Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Sky), Peter Kennaugh (Team Sky), Ian Stannard (Team Sky), Ben Swift (UAE Team Emirates), Scott Thwaites (Dimension Data)

Women’s squad

Time Trial
Elinor Barker (Matrix Fitness Pro Cycling), Hannah Barnes (Canyon-SRAM)

Road Race
Elinor Barker (Matrix Fitness Pro Cycling), Alice Barnes (Drops Cycling Team) Hannah Barnes (Canyon-SRAM), Lizzie Deignan (Boels-Dolmans), Dani King (Cylance Pro Cycling), Melissa Lowther (Team Breeze), Hayley Simmonds

(Featured image)